Life

January Book Club

Hello everyone!

It’s the end of the month, and I decided that since I’m a passionate reader, I really want to introduce a new series onto this blog. I’m starting today with my very first book club! I love to read and to write about great books, so I simply chose a book that I liked this month.

FANGIRL 

by Rainbow Rowell

img_9874
FANGIRL

I got FANGIRL for Christmas. Because I heard so much about it, I needed to get it. FANGIRL was, and still is, a hype, it seemed to me, as if everyone who read it absolutely loved it (and that were a lot of people), so I decided to follow this rush. I’m glad that I did. And if you didn’t yet, you should too.

The story is about a young girl, called Cath, who’s going to college. She has a twin sister, Wren, who is much more outgoing and fits into this new situation better than Cath. Cath has difficulties to find her place there, and isn’t sure if she wants to stay or not. Even if she’s having a hard time, she gives it a chance and despite she’s staying in her room all day, she meets new people, that’ll change her life…

img_9868
Cath

FANGIRL really touched me. It was that lovely kind of book, that I was looking forward to read all day. The story is adorable and easy to read. A cup of tea and a bit of FANGIRL made my day. It’s not that kind of book, that you pick up, and only put down if you’ve finished it. It’s more the book, where you read a bit everyday, a chapter or two, maybe three. In fact, I tried to save it as long as I could. After my opinion, it didn’t have to come to an end at all…

The characters were, are, wonderful. I feel like, they’re real. They’re described in such a true and honest way, that you instantly feel like you know them since ever. I was really impressed by the writing as well. It was the first book I read from Rainbow Rowell, but I’m sure it won’t be the last. She can describe a story, a feeling, a scene as if you were there, or as if you saw it right now. It’s  beautifully written, in a way simple, but precious. I don’t know if that makes sense, but I feel like, that’s the best way to describe it.

img_9896

 

What made the book really interesting, was the Simon Snow fanfiction. Cath, the main character, is a huge fan of a book called “Simon Snow”.  She’s writing fanfiction about it through the whole book. Between every chapter, you can read some parts of the Simon Snow book, written by Gemma T. Leslie or some fanfiction written by Cath. If you read it, the Simon Snow series are going to remember of an other story, that you probably (hopefully) read. That sounds confusing right now, but I won’t explain anything. I don’t want to spoil it. If you are reading it, you will understand it better, otherwise just google it. 😉 I was a bit confused about that at the begnning, but it didn’t bother me at all. In the opposite, it made me curious. I think by now, that it makes the story really unique.

img_9856

The whole book, the story is so natural and so near to the real life. I could empathize with Cath so much. The book is full of little beautiful hints and jokes, there a wonderful line, here lovely scene. If anybody’s interested in fiction writing, it’s a must read.

I loved it a lot, I still do. It’s a book that I come back too, whenever I feel like reading something beautiful. I cannot recommend it enough!

 

I’m out and about…

elena

 

29 thoughts on “January Book Club”

Leave a Reply

