Thoughts

Dare to write

Hello everyone,

This is quite a different theme for a blogpost, but it just made me think, so I wanted to share my thoughts with you.

When I was little, I used to write a lot. All sorts of stories, crazy, surreal, funny, illogical stories. Simply because I enjoyed it. There was no further thought or doubt behind it. And it worked out quite well. People used to quite like what I wrote, I think not only the cute effect, but they actually told me that they liked it. And that made me very proud and happy. I even dreamed about getting an author once.

When I grew older, I somehow stopped writing that much. I did it in school for essays, where I always realized that it was still a thing, but I didn’t really do it anymore. Of course, I still had some crazy ideas, but I just wouldn’t bring them to paper anymore.

Why?

Because, I started doubting. I mean, it’s probably normal with growing up, you start doubting a lot f things you do. But I never really came over that, until now. I started my blog, which is probably the best decision I ever could make, I write blogposts regularly which is wonderful. But I still don’t get back into fiction writing yet, because my ideas in my head don’t seem catching enough, they don’t work out as I want to, and that really discourages me.

But I’ve just been thinking, that’s rubbish. Even if it’s terrible what I write, it doesn’t matter, because I enjoy doing it. If one day there’s something good coming out of it, great! If not, I still had a lot of fun to put my words onto paper.

If you’re maybe in the same situation as I am, you don’t feel comfortable writing anymore because you feel stupid doing it, stop feeling like that.

Write.

Dare to write.

I’m going to try to do that from now on. If there’s an idea, I’ll try my best to make something out of it. No matter if it’s good or not, I just write.

I dare to write.

 

I’m out and about

elena

26 thoughts on “Dare to write”

  1. Thank you Elena for airing these thoughts neatly. Most people including me become skeptical about our own abilities sometimes to match the taste of others which is very disappointing . But intelligence lies in shredding off all this hesitation and accepting the Dare. I #daretowrite too.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love this post. I used to write a lot when I was younger also, but you’re right, as you grow up there’s a lot more pressure for some reason. I definitely need to get back into writing again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can so relate with this. When I was 10 or 11 I had written such a long story, almost kinda novel, on a girl. I had a diary whrre I used to write poems and short stories. But then I completely stopped writing. Completely. Until now, when I dared to start a blog. I still haven’t written anything fictional. Because nothing seems right. But your post inspired me to pick up the pen again. So, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so relatable. Thank you so much for sharing this!! I feel exactly the same, since I was little I wrote stories about litteraly EVERYTHING. Nowadays I still come up with stories when I can’t sleep. I should start writing it onto paper again. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

