Life

April Book Club

Hello everyone!

I found this book in our bookshelf at home and somehow it invited me to read it. Now I know, that it is quite a popular and well-known book, but before, I haven’t ever heard of it. I thought it was a brilliant and very thoughtful book; that’s why I really wanted to include it in my book club!

The Giver

by Lois Lowry

DSC01477.JPG

Jonas is nervous. In only a few weeks, he’s going to be assigned. After twelve years of living in his safe and well-organized community, he’s now ready to move forward and to begin with his assignment, with his task in his community. Jonas knows very well that he shouldn’t be anxious about it, the experts always chose a fitting job that pleasures the person. Yet Jonas can’t picture any of the assignments to totally fit him.

But Jonas doesn’t know yet, what extraordinary task his community is going to expect from him. He doesn’t know yet, that everything, everything that ever was part of his calm life for twelve years, is going to be different. Jonas doesn’t know yet, what dark truths his perfect community is going to show.

Jonas doesn’t know anything.

Because in fact, nobody in his community knows anything. Except one, the giver.

DSC01472

From the first moment on, I wanted to read on. Lowry describes everything with the right portion of details, she writes in a very comfortable way. I enjoyed it a lot. It’s easy to keep up and the information you need is given just at the right time.

There’s no big action, no crazy scenes. Everything is kept very calm, strict and develops with Jonas to more and more liberty. I wasn’t always sure where the plot would lead me and for a long time, I didn’t know how Lowry would finish it. The ending was half expected half still a surprise and it was certainly not an easy ending. The reading itself is very nice and rather quick. But after finishing, you’re not finished yet with this book.

DSC01480.JPG

I think The Giver is a special book. I didn’t expect it to be. It makes you realize a lot of new things and it remembers you of  what is makes your life worthy to live. It seems all so simple, but in it is a very important and beautiful message. I had a lot of fun reading The Giver and I think it’s a book that anyone can and should read. It has all what classic needs. If you read it already, please let me know what you thought about it! If you haven’t yet, I can really, thoroughly recommend it to you!

DSC01478.JPG

For real book worms like me, here you find my last book clubs:

January

February

March

With that said, I hope you enjoyed this book club and happy reading!

I’m out and about,

elena

27 thoughts on “April Book Club”

Leave a Reply

