Life

I’m off to Canada!

 

Hello everyone!

How are you all doing, it’s been a whole week since we last talked. And in a week a lot can happen right? So please tell me a little bit something from your life. You will hear a little big thing from my life, which I’ve been waiting to tell you ’til now.

In fact, I am off for a year.

To Canada.

I go on an exchange year, to a guest family who is so kind to give me a bed and food for a whole year and who lets me be a part of their life.

And this exchange year starts in pretty exactly a month, the 31. August. At that day, I’m going to leave my home country and I’ll fly to Canada.

That’s why I thought, it could be the time to tell you about it.

I’m going to live near Toronto, which excites me a lot! (any Canadiens here, by the way? I’d love to talk to you!!)

Maybe I should also quickly explain, why I chose to go to Canada. The reason is rather simple. Since ever actually,  Canada left a very positive impression with me. I don’t even know exactly why, but I like the country, even if I never visited it yet. I just do. I also wanted to learn better English, not only because this is my international blogging language, but also because I sincerely love the language. I love to hear it, to write it, and of course to speak it.

My decision to go on an exchange year has kinda always been there, since I heard firstly that it was a thing. It sounded too exciting for me, to not do it. And choosing the country I’d go to, well to be honest, of course I thought a lot about it, tried to find pros and cons, but at the end, really, it’s the gut feeling that must be right. It has to feel good.

And I am very happy to go to Canada. It feels right for me.

Now, to be honest, I don’t know how blogging is going to work in Canada, especially the first weeks, I will probably have my head round other things than blogposts. Maybe. But I don’t really know. What I know, is that I have still a month (the whole of August) to continue to work on my blog and we’ll see later what happens then.

The more I think about it, the crazier it seems. I mean, Canada isn’t exactly near to where I live right now…

But the more I think about it, the more excited I get. It feels like my very own adventure, that nobody can take away from me. I will learn a lot, I will have fun, I will meet new people, make new friends, and along that journey I would love to take you guys with me!

Please feel free to ask questions, if you have some, I will do my best to answer them. But even to me this whole next year is full of unclarities and a lot to discover…

 

I’m out and about,

elena

84 thoughts on “I’m off to Canada!”

  1. I’m from Canada! You;ll love it so much, although as you might’ve heard, the winters will be terrible. Toronto is a beautiful city with so many things to do, you’ll definitely have a busy schedule while you’re there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually hope so! I’m excited to see a lot of things there and there won’t be time for hanging around lazily around, haha! Thanks for reading and saying hi! ❤

      Like

  2. Wow, exciting news! If you have the opportunity, I would definitely recommend visiting other parts of Canada while you’re there. I’m British, but currently studying in Newfoundland – it’s well worth a visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey, I love your blog – it’s great you’re coming to Toronto, Canada! I live here myself and I love it – a lot of nice touristy areas. You can also check out my blog where I have a few of my recent adventures around Toronto ( Rafia Tasneem ). Also feel free to contact me if you have any questions!

    – Rafia ❤︎

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw that’s so nice of you, thanks Rafia! I’m actually not going to live in Toronto, but in a bit more rural region a bit farther away. (Do you know if it’s nice around Toronto too?) But I’m sure I will have the opportunity to visit Toronto every now and then! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yeah! i am just going for 4 months though, but i am super excited to travel around! i will be staying in London,Ontario. It is pretty close to Toronto i guess. I am from India, by the way. Where are you going to be staying? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Omg! I hadn’t heard of Listowel! That’s so cool. Are you living with a host family? Have you started looking up cute cafes in the neighbourhood? Because that is pretty much all I do considering my coffee addiction! :p

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

